Skip to main content

Trail Creek Fire

Unit Information

Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest
U.S. Forest Service
420 Barrett St
Dillon, MT 59725

USFS Shield

Stage II Fire Restrictions in Parts of Southwest Montana

Trail Creek Fire Wildfire
Closures – 7/23/2021

 Stage II Fire Restrictions in Parts of Southwest Montana
DILLON, MONT., July 23, 2021 —Interagency fire management officials in southwestern Montana have enacted Stage II fire restrictions that become effective midnight on Friday, July 23rd, 2021 in order to reduce the risk of human-caused wildfire during extreme drought conditions, historically low fuel moisture levels and high fire danger. These restrictions apply to various lands in the following counties: Madison County, Beaverhead County, Deer Lodge County, Silver Bow County, Jefferson County, Powell County south of I-90 and Highway 12 and Granite County south of I-90 and east of the Lolo National Forest boundary.
These fire restrictions affect lands within the above listed counties and area lands managed by the U.S. Forest Service, Montana Department of Natural Resources & Conservation (MT DNRC), US Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS), Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks (FWP) and National Park Service (NPS) who operate within the Dillon Dispatch Zone.
Under Stage II Fire Restrictions, the following acts are prohibited:
• Igniting, building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire or campfire.
• Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.
• Operating motorized vehicles off designated roads and trails, as defined by respective agency.
In addition, the following acts are prohibited from 1 p.m. to 1 a.m.:
• Operating any internal combustion engine.
• Welding or operating any acetylene or other torch with an open flame.
• Using an explosive.

If you plan on recreating or camping outdoors, you can find fire restriction information and a web-based map located at MT Fire Info or contact the specific land management agency with jurisdiction.

The restrictions will remain in effect until there is a significant change in fire danger.

Fireworks are always prohibited on BLM, National Forest and National Park Service lands.

For additional information on fire restrictions, visit the fire restriction website at
See also:

U.S. Forest Service: Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forest Stage II Fire Restriction Order:

Beaverhead County Sheriff's Office news release at: