Vernal Field Office
Bureau of Land Management
Due to prolonged drought conditions, extreme wildland fire indices and forecasts and pursuant to regulations of the Department of Interior, 43 CFR 9212.1(h), the following acts are prohibited on federal lands, roads, trails and waterways, described below by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Green River District (Price Field Office). This order is effective 12:01 am, on Friday, June 25ᵗʰ, 2021 and will remain in effect until rescinded by the BLM Green River District Manager. This new Fire Restriction Order supersedes the previous Order #UT-020-21-03. Fire restriction information may be obtained at www.UtahFireInfo.gov or by contacting the BLM Green River District Fire Management Officer at 435-781-4444.
• No igniting, building, maintaining, or using a fire, including wood, charcoal and briquettes in designated and non-designated campgrounds.
• No Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped in an area that is paved or free from dry vegetation.
• No use/discharge of any kind of fireworks, explosives, incendiary or chemical devices, pyrotechnic devices, exploding targets or the use of steel core/jacketed ammunition. (Order No. UT910-21-001)
• No operating or using any internal or external combustion engine without a spark arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective working order. • No cutting, welding or grinding metal in areas of vegetation.
• Devices fueled by petroleum or liquid propane gas (LPG) products with a shut-off valve are allowed in areas clear of flammable vegetation within 3 feet of the device.
• Permits may be issued to enter and use public lands designated in the fire prevention order when the authorized officer determines that the permitted activities will not conflict with the order (43 CFR 9212.1).
• Any Federal, State, or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of official duty.
Area description All BLM Price Field Office lands located in southeastern Utah in Carbon and Emery counties. See Fire Restriction Map 2021.
Penalties Individuals violating this order can be subject to a $1000 fine and associated fire suppression and rehabilitation costs (43 CFR 9212.4).