Skip to main content

Island Fire

Unit Information

Klamath National Forest
U.S. Forest Service
1809 Fairlane Road
Yreka, CA 96097

USFS Shield

Order NO. 17-05-795 Fire Restrictions

Island Fire Wildfire
Announcements – 7/13/2017



Pursuant to 16 USC 551 and 36 CFR 261.50(a) and (b), and to provide for public safety and protect natural resources, the following acts are prohibited within the Klamath National Forest. This Order is effective from July 13, 2017, through the end of the official 2017 fire season. 1. Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, or stove fire, except in the areas listed below. 36 CFR 261.52(a). A. Developed Recreation Sites, as listed on Exhibit A and shown on the attached map. B. Trinity Alps Wilderness. C. Siskiyou Wilderness. D. Marble Mountain Wilderness. E. Russian Wilderness. 2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or a building, within the Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren of all flammable material. 36 CFR 261.52(d). 3. Welding, operating an acetylene torch or other torch with an open flame. 36 CFR 261.52(i). 4. Operating an internal combustion engine, except on National Forest System roads or trails, or within the Designated Recreation Sites listed in Exhibit A. 36 CFR 261.52(h). Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this Order: 1. Persons with a permit from the Forest Service specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission. Persons with a valid California Campfire Permit are not exempt from the prohibitions listed above. However, persons with a valid California Campfire Permit may use a portable lantern or stove that uses a gas, jellied petroleum, or pressurized liquid fuel and has a shut-off valve. 2. Any Federal, State or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of an official duty. These prohibitions are in addition to the general prohibitions in 36 CFR Part 261, Subpart A.
A violation of these prohibitions is punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. 16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559, 3571 and 3581. ecuted in Yreka, California this / J - day of July, 2017. Forest Supervi so Klamath National Forest

Related Information