Skip to main content

Western Oregon USFS BAER

Unit Information

Umpqua National Forest
U.S. Forest Service
Oregon
Roseburg, OR 97471

USFS Shield

Incident Contacts

Joe Blanchard
Email: joseph.blanchard@usda.gov
Phone: 541-673-9912
Hours: M-F 8a-5p

Jess Clark
Email: jess.clark@usda.gov
Phone: 801-808-7653
Hours: 8a-7p all week

Kassidy Kern
Email: kassidy.kern@usda.gov
Phone: 541-588-2000
Hours: 8:00a.m.-7:00 pm. all week

Highlighted Activity

10/23/2020 Summaries of BAER Assessments
Forest Service Burned Area Emergency Response (BAER) teams have completed their emergency assessments of the fires impacting USFS lands in Western Oregon. One of the main objectives of their...
News - 10/23/2020
BAER specialists assess a small isolated patch of High Soil Burn Severity on the Beachie Fire. Small pockets of high soil burn severity are often associated with stumps or downed logs that smolder and burn for long periods of time.Image options: [ Full Size ]

The USDA Forest Service began a rapid assessment of burned watersheds on Forest Service lands. The Forest Service assembles teams of specialists to identify imminent post-wildfire threats to human life and safety, property, and critical natural or cultural resources on federal lands. This team, called a Burned Area Emergency Response (BAER) team, is largely made up of employees from the local units impacted by the 2020 wildfires.

Due to the significant wildfire activity in relatively close proximity, the Forest Service is leveraging shared resources across multiple emergency response efforts and will use this site to disseminate information pertaining to the BAER process in Western Oregon. We work closely with our interagency partners and stakeholders, such as the BLM, BIA, local counties and municipalities, and private industry.

This site will provide Forest Service BAER information for the following fires, ordered from north to south:

Riverside / White River, Mt. Hood NF (Team Lead: John Chatel; John.Chatel@usda.gov)

Lionshead / Beachie Creek, Willamette NF (Team Lead: Peggy Fisher; Peggy.Fisher@usda.gov)

Holiday Farm, Willamette NF (Team Lead: Molly Hanson; Molly.Hanson@usda.gov)

Archie Creek / Thielsen, Umpqua NF (Team Lead: Mark “Andy” Casillas; Mark.Casillas@usda.gov)

Slater, Rogue River-Siskiyou NF (Team Lead: Joni Brazier on the SW Oregon portion; Joni.Brazier@usda.gov)

Expected assessment starting dates:

Archie Creek / Thielsen: Saturday, Sept. 26

Lionshead / Beachie Creek: Monday, Sept. 28

Riverside / White River: Tuesday, Sept. 29

Holiday Farm: Wednesday, Sept. 30

Slater: Wednesday, Oct. 7

Basic Information

Current as of
Incident TypeBurned Area Emergency Response
Coordinates44.442 latitude, -122.589 longitude