Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Single Publication

Zoom to your location
Reset map zoom and position

Could not determine your location.

Boulder Mountain Fire

Share this incident

Unit Information

Washington 
Colville, 
99114 
Washington 
Colville, 
99114 

Incident Contacts

  • Boulder Mountain Fire Information
    Email:
    2022.bouldermountain@firenet.gov
    Phone:
    509-508-3389
    Hours:
    8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Boulder Mountain Fire update for Sunday, Sept. 25

Boulder Mountain Fire
News - 09/25/2022

 CUSICK, Wash. Although the Boulder Mountain Fire is approaching full containment, it will not be extinguished until sufficient precipitation falls to saturate fuels.

A contained fire is fully enclosed by control lines and not likely to spread based on conditions. The Boulder Mountain Fire will continue to creep and smolder within its boundaries until it receives adequate moisture. “A tenth of an inch isn’t going to do it,” said Dean Warner, fire behavior analyst for Northwest 13. “Half an inch would probably do it. A quarter of an inch might be enough, depending on the location.” Typically, a few consecutive days of wetting rains are needed for fire danger to subside in eastern Washington. Warmer, drier conditions are forecasted to continue through midweek, and the current forecast shows no potential for rain until early October. Today, firefighters will put the finishing touches on containment lines securing unburned horseshoes at the northwest and southwest edges of the fire. Mop-up, line repair and backhauling are continuing in all areas. Closures: An area closure remains in place for the Boulder Mountain Fire on the Colville National Forest. For a map and complete description of the closure area, including a list of trails and roads, go to https://www.fs.usda.gov/alerts/colville/alerts-notices. Violations of this order are punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for an individual or $10,000 for an organization, or imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.